Beaten Down by Grace

Everybody gets those ‘rough days.’ Sometimes it’s because of a mistake we made that day, or because we feel discouraged at how time is like a train that is too fast to catch. Some days, it’s even just an emotional day where we don’t even know why it’s rough.

And then some rough days happen because of God’s grace. Huh??

To be honest, I think every Christian has days (possibly many) that are rough because of God’s grace. For me, I look at my irritability, apathy, lack of discipline in different areas, insecurity about the future, and my sometimes hyper-introversion. All of these are relatives to my selfishness and what I view to be important (which pretty much comes back to pride), and I can’t help but think: God loves me for who I am. Despite all of my sin, he is overjoyed to show me his love for me through Jesus.

God is a giver of grace. By his grace he gives life to creation every day, and we are all alive because he literally holds us together (Colossians 1:17, Matthew 5:45). By his grace we are forgiven of our sins because of Jesus, and he happily does it (Psalm 103:10-12). And most importantly it is by grace that we get salvation at all (Romans 6:23).

That brings me to my knees every time. I don’t deserve a flawless man paying for what I do wrong. Seeing the fact that every good thing I have is a product of God’s grace makes me feel bad because I throw it back in his face every day. Yet he deals with me.

There are over 6.8 billion people on this planet. He deals with them, too.

Thinking about it, God’s grace is overwhelming. I literally cannot understand how he does it. What’s more mind-bending, God is love. He loves to love (1 John 4:7-10)!! And in Ephesians 2 we learn that God is rich in mercy. Read this passage –

2 Timothy 2:13 – “…if we are faithless, he remains faithful— for he cannot deny himself.”

God is perfect in his loving grace, and because he can’t deny himself, which is complete and infinite love, his grace will never fail or deplete. It leaves you in a sense of awe, that you are in the hands of an immensely powerful God who chooses to love you when it costs him to do so. It’s almost scary. This is probably the fear that Solomon was talking about in Proverbs 1:7.

Even though yesterday left me broken with my own sin, the best part about those days (wait… wasn’t it a rough one yesterday??) is that they never end bitterly. They always end in utter gratitude. Have you ever given a truly homeless person food and seen their reaction? Have you ever rescued a dog? That is the type of gratitude we have here. Except instead of thanking a mere man, we are at the feet of the God who created every single star we see in the night sky [and more] and thanking him for life.

It’s not about just going to heaven and escaping hell. That is a bonus. The true core of the apple is that we get to spend every day with God, and he never gets tired of us. And if anything ever gets in the way of him and us, all we have to do is talk to him and repent. Anything that will get in between us and God will undoubtedly be our fault. That isn’t a big deal though, because authentically turning to him naturally turns us away from ourselves and our problems.

God’s grace really is like a baseball bat. It has the potential to hit you really hard when you think about it (and it often does). But once you experience the Gospel and grow in Jesus every day, you see that the bat isn’t meant to hit you. It’s meant to pulverize out the sin in your heart. When that happens, you’ll be able to appreciate the Batter himself and see his signature on the bat, “Jesus.” Here are some verses to chew on:

2 Corinthians 9:8 – “And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that having all sufficiency in all things at all times, you may abound in every good work.”

1 John 3:1 – “See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are. The reason why the world does not know us is that it did not know him.”

Ephesians 2:4-5 – “But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ— by grace you have been saved…”

How have you seen God’s grace for you today? Any crazy stories about God working in your life??

 

Leave a Reply

