Sorry, but I’m too busy for you.

I want to first give my blog a sympathetic hug and apologize for the unannounced, week-long ‘hiatus’ I’ve had here. The past week has literally been insane with school stuff, and even the week before I wasn’t posting as much as I normally do (2-3 posts per week). It’s been absolute busyness.

And that’s exactly what today’s post is about: busyness.

We all have seasons and weeks of busyness, and it seemed like just about everyone I know has had an insane past week or so as well.

I couldn’t help but think, what do we get busy with? College, work, meetings, relationships, life, etc. Did I miss anything? I was trying to go for the big ones.

Anyway, I’ve found that the older I get, the more busy I become. I see that more and more I have to let go of certain hobbies in exchange for responsibilities that have long-term effects on my life and my future family.

All this is good, but I think there is a danger. Amid all the stress that busyness can often cause, there is a sense of complacency. A sense of entitlement. This is my life. I’ve got stuff to do. I don’t have time.

Do you see what’s most important? Me, my, and I. The danger amidst being busy is to place huge emphasis on you and your needs, not on what actually needs to get done. It’s at this time that we neglect the needs of others, which, isn’t that why we try to get our tasks done? Getting things out of the way so we can go home to what’s really important? Perhaps this is why so many men neglect their families. What was once their passion has been destroyed in the wake of a busy job.

Worse still, during these seasons of life we largely forget about God. Our busy lives are too important to read His ‘little book’ or spend some time in prayer. But I have ___. God understands. We’ve said this often. I definitely have.

But then I look to Jesus, and I see He does exactly the opposite. He created the world (Colossians 1:16) and He lived an Earthly life only to be murdered for telling the truth. Yet, in His sovereign love He never forgets about us. While everything is for His glory, humanity was His mission on Earth. We never even deserved this, but God still looks after us every day of our lives (Matthew 5:45).

This is the Guy we love and yearn to be like, but do our lives reflect this spirit?

If anyone should be too busy, it most definitely would be God. Have you ever seen pictures from the Hubble space telescope? Did you know our Sun can house 1,000,000 earths? Did you know that our Sun is a very small star compared to others in our galaxy alone? Yet God knows each star by name (Psalm 147:4). Talk about busy!!

We are so tiny in this regard, but in our sin we have broken the largest and most loving relationship that ever existed. We severed the relationship between God and man, and to fix it Someone perfect had to die. As far as I can tell, no stars or planets or animals or any other thing of Creation did this. Other objects don’t sin beside human beings. They are so much bigger than us, and our small planet could be destroyed so easily by a cosmic catastrophe. Even so, we sinners remain to be the apple of God’s eye (Psalm 17:8). He gave us a way out to Him through Jesus. What grace we are given all the time.

This convict me so much! And I think this convicted King David as well. Check it:

Psalm 8:3-4 – When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him,
and the son of man that you care for him?

True, we are not God. True, we don’t manage planets and animals and all creation. However, we are told (from the God who does all those things) to adhere the most to two things in everything: love God and love people. Jesus made this clear to the Pharisees. And no matter how difficult life gets, God tells us that even in the toughest of trials we will never get more than we can bear.

Is life busy? Absolutely! We shouldn’t be surprised then when our time gets crunched. Christians should be seeking Jesus in everything. Our love should pour out on others, no matter how busy things get. Why? Because Jesus is always with us (Matthew 28:20), and He is never too busy for us.

We are His image-bearers. Let’s reflect Him well.

 

3 thoughts on “Sorry, but I’m too busy for you.

  1. Pingback: Losing the Gospel « What Really Matters

Leave a Reply

