I’m Nauseous…

You know what feeling I hate the most? I hate the feeling of being lost while I’m driving, especially when I get off the wrong exit of a highway. I don’t doubt that most people have felt this, but this one particularly freaks me out. I get that feeling of being lost, like I’ve missed my chance to ‘make things right’.

But you know what always happens? I get back on the right track. My Tom-Tom always corrects the path, or I just backtrack to where I left off on my directions. The funny part is while I I panic and get so nervous, it’s just me. The GPS’s and other people in their cars keep on going, and I always end up finding my way back to the right path. It turns out, like every other time, that God has everything in control. Then with my relief I tend to laugh it off, because I know that God knew what to do long before I even turned on the car.

Think about that one feeling you absolutely dread. Maybe it’s feeling ugly. Maybe it’s feeling unforgivable. Maybe it’s feeling anxious that you don’t know the future. Whatever that feeling (or even circumstance) is, consider this:

Is God not in control of it? “The earth is the Lord’s, and everything in it,” says the Psalmist (ch. 24). If God holds our giant planet in his hands like a little muffin, is He not above your internal feelings? As you read about my emotional plight, perhaps the silliness of it in light of God’s sovereignty comes to your mind — I hope you apply that to your circumstances as well.

While our feelings help reveal our humanity, they are not always rational (most of the time, they actually aren’t at all). Come to think of it, just about everything we humans generate usually ends up being pretty jacked up. I’m so thankful God is gracious and provides a way out, especially when I’m feeling terrible about something.

2 Peter 1:3 – “His divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of him who called us to his own glory and excellence…”

Our Heavenly Dad has given us everything we need to live life with Him, but we can’t neglect that second half of the verse. It’s through knowing Him that we learn what it truly means to live. If He has given us everything we need now through a relationship with Him, then that must include the truth. That must include the right path, which means I know where my tough times, rough circumstances, and terrible feelings should go. It’s through knowing Him that I can see through whatever my feelings may be and give my situation to the Author of Life.

Guess what? He’s done the same for you, too. So whatever you’re going through today, this week, whatever, just let Him have it. 

In closing, let’s go back to something else the Psalmist said – 

Psalm 94:18-19 – “When I thought, ‘My foot slips,’ your steadfast love, O Lord, held me up. When the cares of my heart are many, your consolations cheer my soul.”

What terrible feeling do you hate the most? Have you gotten lost on the highway recently??

Leave a Reply

