God’s Timing is Bad

Awesome picture thanks to c3ph3ld

From my experience, it seems like God often has bad timing.

Whenever I’m standing in line at Chik-Fil-A anxiously asking God about what I should order, He usually doesn’t answer me right away.

The days I have specific plans for how I’m going to utilize my time, that’s exactly when God has someone call me with a need or convicts me to go talk to someone.

On a side note, I can’t really blame Him. He is…. God.

In any case, I think David would probably agree with me on the off-ness of God’s timing. You may recall the story in the later chapters of 1 Samuel: King Saul was bent on killing him, and David ran away for his life from Saul all around the countryside, spending plenty of time in hiding. Saul was on his heels frequently, and there was little rest for the future king of Israel.

It wasn’t until eight years later that God finally sent the Philistines nearby as a distraction that effectively pulled Saul off David’s tail (see 1 Samuel 23). Eight years. Many of you like ‘being on the road’; how about ‘traveling’ for eight years straight because the ruler of your country wanted you dead?

Now since this story is told over a handful of chapters, only so many details managed to fit. Thus, we don’t have much indication as to how David was feeling and thinking during this part of his life, but I don’t doubt he was tired and probably wondering why God hadn’t saved time and shown up sooner. Sound like a familiar thought?

I bet David realized something important, though. There was more at stake than just his own life. There was also the entire nation of Israel, and subsequently the rest of the world, too. David knew that God was using him as a part of His story (Psalm 31:7-8). He also knew that he would eventually be the king of Israel (1 Samuel 16:1-13), and that God has never been unfaithful in any of His promises. Also, it’s a no-brainer God was growing and preparing David for the future even in this tough time.

Let’s flip this coin. 

David knew that asking God to help him immediately in that moment would have been selfish, as the request disregards how others are affected. That holds true today – our actions affect other people, and it wouldn’t surprise me if whatever my Sovereign God does affects everyone in the world as well (ex. providing a way for salvation). Answer me this: do you know how every decision affects each and every person possible, all the time? Of course not. And in our ‘timing’, we tend to forget this.

God knows, though. And He acts accordingly, in His timing.

It was in God’s timing that Saul was practically handed to David in the next chapter. It was in God’s timing that he was later made king over Israel. It was in God’s timing that Jesus was sent to reconcile a lost race. None of this happened within your timing at all.

Think of all the blessings God has given you – think of your life. Has everything really worked out in your timing? In all honesty, whenever I’ve tried to control something more, I’ve almost always ended up being frustrated. God doesn’t run into this problem on His watch.

Are you asking God to do something right now? Is there a dire decision that needs an answer? Seek God’s timing, not your own. If He doesn’t answer right away, appreciate the present meantime He is using to prune you for the future, like David.

Have you ever needed God to answer you right away, but He did/didn’t? If you had to flee for your life for eight years, where would you go?

2 thoughts on “God’s Timing is Bad

  1. I’m going to overlook everything else in this post and discuss the fact that I’m drooling (not really) over the word “Chik-Fil-A” — I have not had it since I went to college in TN in ’06-’07… :[
    yes, that’s very unfortunate… what’s even more unfortunate is that there are NO Chik-Fil-A’s in the North (that I know of)… *sigh* such an awful plight that is.

    • Oh that is very unfortunate. Chik is so good! I am surprised they haven’t expanded much up north. I’m currently out in CA and there’s none out here, either. Must just be a Southern thing 😉

Leave a Reply

